Alla inlägg under januari 2014

Av unika-jag - 31 januari 2014 18:01

Hi Everyone!


Now you became disappointed, huh? I mean ... The topic says "Gott och blandat" and  I have no candy to offer. Well, by the way! Yes, I have ! The candy of life! Tidbits from my life, the positive things that happen!


1) I had a meeting with my  dietician on  January 23.  I have lost a total of 3 kilos since November. The legs don´t feel as heavy as lead l any longer, it´s is easier to turn myself around on the bench at physical therapy, easier to walk with the walker as I'm not dragging my feet as much anymore. Found out today that I have a bra that's getting too big.


2) Have had induction of  a new assistant that went well, he starts his work with me on February 2 and most likely finishes at the end of the month, sadly  .


3) An "old" assistant that I had between 2005-2011 will come back to me, but this time as a suppleant. Feels good to have someone back who knows me well, in the middle of everything new.    

4) On Monday, February 3, I will see my psychologist again!   


Worries:

1) My pelvic bone is scew again! Not even a month since last time!     I visited my  physiotherapist 15 January and then it was "wrong" in two places. One reason that it so easily becomes  "wrong" can be that I  the last two times "cracked"/fixed  it just before my period, which causes that it easily goes back in the same position again once I get my period. Another reason may be that I`ve lost weight. The body may react to something happening. I´ve  been through it before. Before I had the swim  the pelvis became "wrong" now and then  due to, among other things, too little movement. When I started swimming  my  body protested, which meant I had to "crack" my pelvis very often, until it got used.  I´m trying to delay " the wrong" a bit by walking with the walker, sitting in another chair, using my knee-blocker,  sleeping in my bed.


Have a nice weekend!


Friday Hug!

Av unika-jag - 31 januari 2014 15:00

Hej Alla!


Nu blev ni besvikna, va? Jag menar...Rubriken lyder " Gott och Blandat" och så har jag inget godis att erbjuda. Jo, förresten! Det har jag visst det! Livsgodis! Godbitar ur mitt liv, det positiva som händer!  


1) Var till dietisten den 23 jan. Jag har gått ner totalt 3 kg sedan november. Benen känns inte tunga som bly längre, har lättare att vända runt mig själv på britsen vid sjukgymnastik, lättare att gå med rollatorn då jag inte släpar benen lika mycket längre. Upptäckte idag att jag har en BH som börjar bli för stor.  


2) Har haft inskolning av ny assistent som gick bra, han börjar jobba hos mig den 2 februari och stannar nog mest troligt bara månaden ut, tråkigt nog  .


3) En "gammal" assistent som jag haft mellan 2005-2011 kommer tillbaka till mig, fast denna gång som vikarie. Känns skönt att få tillbaka någon som känner mig väl, mitt i allt nytt.     


4) På måndag den 3 februari ska jag träffa psykologen igen    


Orosmomment:


1) Mitt bäckenben är snett igen! Inte ens en månad sedan sist!     Var till sjukgymnasten den  15 januari och då var det snett på två ställen. En orsak till att det så lätt blir snett kan vara att jag de två senaste gångerna "knäckt" det precis innan mens, vilket gör att det lätt åker tillbaka i samma läge igen när jag väl får mens. En annan orsak kan vara att jag gått ner i vikt. Kroppen kanske reagerar på att något händer. Har nämligen varit med om det förut. Innan jag hade simningen blev ju bäckenet snett p.g.a bl.a för lite rörelse. När jag sedan började simma så protesterade kroppen, vilket gjorde att jag fick snett bäckenben titt som tätt, tills den vant sig. Försöker fördröja snedheten lite genom att gå med rollatorn, sitta i arbetsstolen, använda knästoppen, sova i sängen.


Trevlig helg!


Fredagskram!

Av unika-jag - 29 januari 2014 15:50

Translation of my blog post from november 19, 2013.


Hi Everyone!


I have written about my cognitive impairments and my limited energy in an "academic" way. Now, I want to write about it a in a more earthy / casual way that anyone can understand. My cognition doesn´t work the same way as for a person without brain damage. I start the day with half the energy compared to a  person without brain damage(sometimes even less than that). Everything I do takes both gives and takes energy, so I need to find a good balance between these things.


You can think of my energy in the form of teaspoons, like this:


Get out of bed 2 tsp

Eat 2 tsp

Get dressed 3 tsp

Sit by the computer 2 tsp

Hang out with friends 4 tsp


As you can see, this requires an energy of 13 spoons, but what if I only have 11? I can not use teaspoons (energy) that I don´t have. Spending time with friends is something that gives me energy in terms of being social ., but takes mentally in terms of concentration (my concentration is bad), sounds ( I can´t  shut out sounds I don´t want to hear, I´m  taking in everything ) and visual perception disorder (difficulty with visual stimuli, such as people going back and forward carrying things).


A person with good cognitive functions,  a brain that works "as it should" have an extra battery to take from when the energy level is at the bottom, for me it isn´t the same . I can´t get more energy by resting / sleeping during the day, but what I do is that I save a bit of my daily energy , so that I, hopefully have enough energy to for example brush my teeth in the evening.


Before, I forced myself to for example be social with friends even though I didn´t have my mental energy. It ended up with me crying later in the week, because the energy wasn´t there.


I can build up  a small extra battery , but it will never be as big as for one person without cognitive impairments. To build up this extra battery  it requires longer periods of rest. From several days to one year.


Thanks for reading!

Av unika-jag - 27 januari 2014 19:24

Translation of my post from January 9, 2014:

Hello everyone, especially to those of you who are parents!

I have just been to my family for a week. My dad and brother have probably not accepted or understood my disability, especially not  the cognitive part. I try to give them information, but I´m  constantly questioned and criticized in a negative way. When I ask my dad what time I have to get up in the morning when I'm home, I don´t get a clear answer, just a "Sleep until you wake up", which to me is very vague and unstructured. I´m  afraid I'll wake up late so that the whole time planning doesen´t fit,  which would be extremely stressful for me. He also scolds me up if I according to him,wakes up too late, so my solution to the issue is to try to structure things up myself, which just leads to a lot of stress. I set the  alarm between 9-9.30 each morning. Then dad asked:

- Are you up?

-Yeah, I set the alarm.

- Why?

- For us , so we can  keep up with everything.

- You really don´t need to do that

- Yes, I have to.

One day he said:

It's 3 minutes left until lunch

- I'm going to be late (I got up a quarter too late after my breakfast- nap.  Was alerted about the time that was left until  lunch quite late, need a reminder 20 minutes before. I sat in the bathroom and was wearing everything except the pants when I got the reminder ).

- It´s not my fault. It is  you that  have set the time.

- I didn´t say that it was your fault.

 - It is you that has set the time.

- Yes, I know ... Keep the food warm.

- Stop babbling!

I don´t babble! I'm just answering what you say.

If I tell my father I'm tired  he says:

- You go to bed on time in the night and you also sleep a while during the day.

- I wake up so early in the morning.

- Then you've slept enough.

- No one has slept enough after four hours.

- Otherwise, you would easily have fallen asleep again?

- But I got hungry ...

- That you can´t sleep is probably bacause you fell asleep several times on the couch the other night.

- I do not usually have trouble sleeping if I just slept a while on the couch,  it´s if I have been lying on the couch and slept for several hours in the evening that´s a problem.

If I am happy that I improved my sleep, he can say:

- You can turn and twist everything if you want to (according to him, it's only right to go to bed before midnight., He finds it difficult to be happy for small improvements, so for them I try to be happy  myself and really say them out loud so that he can hear, otherwise he would manage to depress me).

One day I wanted to  visit a friend and I was a little worried about not being able to go there in the evening because I had such a headache all day and I said: - We may need to move the visit, but I hope I don´t have to.

- Why?

- Because I've been looking forward to it.

-From one day to another? To me it sounds that it would have been easier for them to meet you on a friday, but you didn´t want it.

- We  actually discussed several options.

When I tell my dad that I have limited energy and starts the day with perhaps half as much energy as him was due to my cognitive impairments  he asks:

- How do you measure it?

When I say I'm going to need my rest whether I slept well or not, he asks:


- Who said that?

- My psychologist.

One day when we were discussing training and diet I told him that I and  my dietician believe that I do my best that have both swimming and gym- training during the week.


He said:

- Do you think that's enough? You  do anything to avoid working out! Do not want to ride a bike either, then? It is  human nature to be lazy! Then he made up a bunch of reasons about that I thought soreness was painful and therefore i  didn´t  bother to work out, which is definitely not true!

As I sat in front of  the TV one evening he came in and said:

- Why are you sitting like that with your  head? (I always lean a bit to the left) Up with your head! Put your hands on your knees! Put your arms up! Here I am getting slightly sick of listening to him and I´m  also tired because the time is  8 pm so I say:


- I actually sit here!

- I can´t say anything to you!

- It depends on how you say it!

- No, it depends on you!

When I later wanted an orange and wanted to eat it with my  right hand  he said:


- No, take the orange-slices with your left hand!


When I tell him that I have bad short-term memory and give him examples of how it shows he questions my example with - I don´t understand! or - Anyone can have bad short-term memory in the situation you describe.

When I tell my brother that my brain's interpretation center is not working properly  he says:

- It's not about any interpretation center! It's a matter of maturity! Here I got  sincerely sad and went to my room and  cried for an hour. The list goes on ...

I have offered my dad and brother to participate in a meeting with my psychologist about my cognitive impairments so they can understand me better. Dad's answer is:


- Well, I think you have explained it  quite well. I think I understand.


 My brother's response is: - Is it necessary?



Exactly all the details are not included here. The post would be too long and I can´t  write anymore right now. I want it to be clear that this is my personal experience of the situation.


Thanks for reading!
 

Av unika-jag - 25 januari 2014 21:23

Translation of my post from January 17, 2014:


Hi Everyone!


On Monday,  January 13:th 2014,   I was at my first meeting with my  psychologist for this year. Told him how Christmas was (the same things that I wrote in the blog post the other day). I told her the truth, that soon I won´t have energy to invest in mine and my dad's relationship anymore,  any criticism from him regarding my disability  is sucking my energy. Then she wondered  for how long the critizism has been going on.

- For seven years, I said

- What kind of power does he have? How has he been able continue for seven years without anybody stopping him?

- They haven´t known about it, because I have protected him.

- What is it that makes him in need of protection? What is it that makes him so fragile?

- It is not that he is fragile. People, including myself, are afraid of what he will do if my relatives takes my part in this.

- Aha. He is the one that yells.

- Yes.

- Let him yell then!

- But I will get criticized negativly for it.

- As long as it is only verbal negative critizism it´s one thing. You might find it easier to deal with it if you have someone on your side. If your dad and brother think it's hard to give you the structure, you need someone else to give you that. You have the right to get help from  an assistant!

- We have discussed it and he doesn´t want to!

- It's your life! Another option is to not go home at all.

Here something cracks for me and I start to cry and say through the tears:

- But then it affects a lot of innocent people who actually miss me and WANT to see me at home! My grandmother and grandfather, my aunt, my cousins ...

- I know I'm being hard on you now ...

- You is not half as hard as my dad ... (Hard is not the right word by the way, straight and honest is better). I stretch out my arms towards  her and she meets me in a warm-hearted and honest hug, you know, the one that feels and signals trust and respect, and she says: -  You are struggling and  I think you do it well!

Wonderful psychologist, so glad I have him!   


We also talked about the idea of writing a letter to my family about my need of help, but the psychologist says that all ways to take the information in are  closed from my dad's and brother's side and therefore, I will probably not get a response to the letter, which will make me sad and disappointed. To protect myself, it's a good idea that not write it. Personally, I feel that I haven´t got the energy nor the lust to write the letter right now. Feeling so bad mentally right now, that in case of writing a letter, I will not be able to handle  a negative response to it. Must pick up the pieces that have been created during the home stay, think about my life, think about what I WANT! I can not dance after dad's pipe throughout my life. I will just get unhappy then ...


Have a nice weekend!

Av unika-jag - 17 januari 2014 14:06

#psykologsamtal #funktionshinder #föräldrar  Hej Alla!


I måndags var jag på mitt första möte m. psykologen för i år. Talade om för honom hur julen varit (samma saker som jag skrev i blogginlägget häromdagen). Jag sa som det var, att jag snart inte orkar investera i min och pappas relation längre, att all kritik från honom gällande mitt funktionshinder suger min energi. Hon undrade då hur länge denna kritik pågått.


- Sju år, sa jag


-  Vad är det för makt han har? Hur har han kunnat hålla på i sju utan att någon reagerat?


- De har inte vetat om det, för jag har skyddat honom.


- Vad är det som gör att han måste skyddas? Vad är det som gör honom så skör?


- Det är inte det att han är skör. Folk, inklusive jag själv är rädd för vad han kommer göra ifall min släkt ställer sig på min sida.


- Aha. Han är en sådan som gormar.


- Ja.


- Låt honom gorma då!


- Men jag kommer få skit för det.


- Så länge det bara är verbal skit är det väl en sak. Du kanske får lättare att hantera skiten om du har någon på din sida. Om din pappa och bror tycker det är jobbigt att ge dig struktur så måste någon annan ge dig det. Du har rätt att få hjälp av t.ex en assistent!


- Vi har diskuterat det och han vill inte!


- Det är ditt liv! Ett annat alternativ är att inte åka hem alls.

Här brister det för mig och jag börjar gråta och säger mellan tårarna:


- Men då drabbar det ju en massa oskyldiga som faktiskt saknar mig och VILL se mig hemma! Min farmor och farfar, min faster, mina kusiner...


- Jag vet att jag är hård med dig nu...


- Du är inte hälften så hård som min pappa...( Hård är inte rätt ord förresten, rak och ärlig är bättre). Jag sträcker ut armarna mot honom och han möter mig i en varmhjärtad och ärlig kram, ni vet en sådan som känns och signalerar tillit och respekt och han säger: - Vad du kämpar och står i, jag tycker du gör det bra!


Underbara psykolog, så glad att jag har honom!     


Vi pratade även kring idén om att skriva ett brev till familjen kring mitt hjälpbehov, men psykologen säger att alla vägar till informationsmottagande är stängda från min pappas och brors sida och därmed kommer jag nog inte få något svar på brevet, vilket kommer att göra mig ledsen och besviken. För att skydda mig själv är det en bra idé att låta bli. Själv känner jag att jag varken har ork eller lust att skriva brevet just nu. Mår så pass dåligt att jag inte skulle kunna hantera en negativ respons på ett brev. Måste plocka ihop skärvorna som blivit av hemmavistelsen, fundera på mitt liv, fundera på vad JAG VILL! Jag kan inte dansa efter pappas pipa hela livet. Jag blir bara olycklig då...


Trevlig helg!

Av unika-jag - 9 januari 2014 23:09

Hej alla, särskilt till er som är föräldrar!


God fortsättning! Jag har nyss varit uppe hos familjen en vecka. Min pappa och bror har nog inte accepterat eller förstått sig på mitt funktionshinder, särskilt inte den kognitiva biten. Jag försöker ge dem information, men blir hela tiden ifrågasatt och kritiserad  på ett negativt sätt. När jag t.ex frågar pappa vilken tid jag ska upp på morgnarna när jag är hemma så får jag inget tydligt svar, utan bara ett " Sov tills du vaknar", vilket för mig blir väldigt otydligt och ostrukturerat. Är dessutom rädd att jag ska vakna försent så att hela dagsplaneringen går i stöpet, vilket skulle bli oerhört stressande för mig. Får dessutom skäll ifall jag enligt min pappa vaknar försent, så min lösning på saken blir då att själv försöka strukturera upp saker, vilket bara leder till en massa stress. Ställde larmet mellan 9-9.30 varje morgon. Pappa frågade då:

- Är du uppe?

-Ja, jag ställde larmet.

- Varför det?

- För att vi ska hinna med allting.

- Det behöver man väl inte göra (ställa larm alltså)

- Jo, jag måste det.


En dag sa han:


-Det är 3 min kvar till lunch.

- Jag kommer att bli sen ( klev upp en kvart sent efter vilan samt. blev varskodd om tiden som var kvar till lunch alldeles försent, behöver påminnelse 20 min. innan. Satt i badrummet och hade fått på mig allt utom byxor när jag fick påminnelsen).

- Inte är det då mitt fel, det är du som har satt tiden.

- Jag har inte påstått det heller.

¨- Det är du som har satt tiden.

- Ja, jag vet...Håll maten varm.

- Sluta gaffla! (babbla).

Jag gafflar inte! Jag svarar bara på det du säger.


Om jag säger till pappa att jag är trött så säger han:


- Du går ju och lägger dig i tid och du sover dessutom en stund på dagarna. 

- Jamen jag vaknar ju så tidigt på morgnarna.

- Då har du väl sovit tillräckligt.

- Ingen har väl sovit klart efter fyra timmar.

- Annars skulle du väl ha somnat om?

- Men jag hann ju bli hungrig...

- Det var nog det att du nickade till flera gånger i soffan häromkvällen som gjorde att Du inte kunde sova.

- Jag brukar inte ha svårt att sova om jag bara nickat till, det är om jag legat  i soffan och  sovit flera timmar kvällstid som det händer.


Om jag är glad åt att jag förbättrat min sömn kan han säga:


- Allt går ju att vända och vrida på om man tänker så (enligt honom så är det enda rätta att gå och lägga sig före midnatt. Han har svårt att vara glad för små förbättringar, så dem får jag försöka vara glad åt själv och verkligen säga dem högt så han hör, annars skulle han lyckas trycka ner mig).


En dag skulle jag hälsa på en vän och jag var lite orolig över att inte kunna gå dit på kvällen p.g.a att jag haft sådan huvudvärk hela dagen och jag sa: - Vi kanske måste flytta besöket, men jag hoppas jag slipper.

- Varför det?

- För att jag har sett fram emot det.

- Från en dag till en annan? säger han och fnyser. Vidare sa han: På dig låter det som att det hade passat bättre för dem en fredag, men det ville inte du!

- Vi diskuterade faktiskt olika förslag.



När jag säger till min pappa att jag har begränsad energi  och startar dagen med kanske hälften så mycket energi som han p.g.a mina kognitiva nedsättningar så frågar han:


- Hur mäter man det?


När jag säger att jag kommer att behöva min vila oavsett om jag sovit bra eller dåligt så frågar han:


- Vem har sagt det?

- Min psykolog.


En dag när vi diskuterade träning och kost så sa jag till honom att jag och dietisten anser att jag gör mitt bästa som har både simning och styrketräning. Han sa:

-  Tycker du att det räcker? Du gör allt för att slippa!  Vill du  inte cykla heller då? Det ligger i människans natur att vara lat! Sedan hittade han på en massa om att jag tyckte att träningsvärk var jobbigt och därför struntar i att träna, vilket absolut inte är sant!


När jag satt i skräddarsits vid tv:n en kväll så kom han in och sa:

- Varför sitter du sådär med huvudet? (Lutar det alltid lite snett) Nu far du iväg med huvudet! Sätt händerna på knäna! Upp med armarna! Här börjar jag bli aningen less att höra på honom och är dessutom trött då klockan är 20.00 på kvällen så jag säger: Jag satt faktiskt och såg på tv!

- Man kan då inte säga något åt dig!

- Det beror på hur man säger det!

- Nej, det beror på dig!

När jag lite senare ville ha en apelsin och ville äta den med höger hand så sa han: - Nej, ta klyftorna med vänster hand!


När jag säger till honom att jag har dåligt närminne och ger honom exempel på hur det kan yttra sig så ifrågasätter han mitt exempel med " Jag förstår inte!" eller " Situationen du beskriver kan vem som helst ha dåligt närminne i."


När jag säger till min bror att min hjärnas tolkningscentral inte fungerar som den ska så säger han:


- Det handlar inte om någon tolkningscentral! Det är en mognadsfråga! Här blev jag uppriktigt ledsen och gick och grät en timme.  Listan kan göras lång...


Har erbjudit både min pappa och bror ett informationssamtal hos min psykolog ang. mina kognitiva nedsättningar så de kan förstå mig bättre. Pappas svar är: - "Nja, jag tycker du har förklarat ganska bra.  Min brors svar är: - Är det nödvändigt. Om de väljer att inte gå, så är det deras val, men då vill jag som dotter/syster inte få skit för att de inte förstår mig, för att jag är för struktursbunden etc...


Exakt alla detaljer är inte med här. Inlägget skulle bli för långt och jag orkar inte skriva mer just nu. Vill förtydliga att detta är min personliga upplevelse av situationen.


Behövde skriva av mig!


Tack för ordet!


Varma kramar!



Presentation

Hej! Jag är en 40- årig kvinna. Denna blogg handlar om mitt liv och min Cerebral pares. Frågor? Använd frågerutan. Välkomna!
Hi! I´m a 40 yrar old woman. This blog is about my life with Cerebral palsy. Questions? Use the square below! Welcome

Fråga mig

4 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
   
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
<<< Januari 2014 >>>

Tidigare år

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik

Gästbok

Min gästbok

unika-jags gästbok


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards